We're very lucky.
Jack is the sort of child
we all assume we'll have
when we decide to have children,
and the sort of child
less experienced parents
congratulate themselves for.

Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com!

Current

All of 2006

January and February 2005
March and April 2005
May and June 2005
July - December 2005

January and February 2004
March and April 2004
May and June 2004
July and August 2004
September and October 2004
November and December 2004

Click for Ann Arbor, Michigan Forecast

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com

Add to My Yahoo!

Enter your Email


Preview | Powered by FeedBlitz

HeroicStories - Restoring faith in humanity, one story at a time

Blogs we read:

Blogroll Me!

contact me older entries newest entry

Monday, Mar. 08, 2004 - Mamma

Lilypie 4th Birthday Ticker

Jack is very much a creature of routine. I suppose most babies are, but it seems especially true of our "laughing Jack".

As an example, a few nights ago, he was especially exhausted. (This crawling business takes a huge amount of energy, and causes him to be way too restless to nap well!) So I tried to foreshorten his bedtime routine to just putting on his pajamas, and skipping the "routine". Mistake.

I dressed him in his pajamas, and we went to lie down and nurse. He nursed and then flipped over and crawled away, giggling. I knew that couldn't be right because his eyes were neon red from exhaustion! But try as I might, I couldn't convince him to lie down and go to sleep.

Eventually I gave up and brought him back out to the parlour to play with his toys...he played for 15 minutes, but he was tired, and very cranky...so I started his routine. We turned off each lamp in turn, saying "Good night lamp", we turned off the radio, saying "good night radio". We locked the front door and said "good night door". On the way down the hall to the bedroom, he chirped "Good night". We changed his diaper, and then we lay down to nurse. He was out almost before his head hit the pillow!

So now, we don't skip the routine anymore. We may do it quickly, but we do it.

In the next week or so, I am thinking about adding the reading of a book to the routine. Jack is "too busy" to pay much attention when I try to read during the day -- but he loves his books, and Dad says he has days when he's far more interested in books than in toys -- he just doesn't have those on the weekends when I'm home! Once I've gotten him started, I expect Mr. Routine will have a lifelong bedtime reading habit! (I'm such a bad influence!)

previous - next

Pick a Random Page

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!