We're very lucky.
Jack is the sort of child
we all assume we'll have
when we decide to have children,
and the sort of child
less experienced parents
congratulate themselves for.

Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com!

Current

All of 2006

January and February 2005
March and April 2005
May and June 2005
July - December 2005

January and February 2004
March and April 2004
May and June 2004
July and August 2004
September and October 2004
November and December 2004

Click for Ann Arbor, Michigan Forecast

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com

Add to My Yahoo!

Enter your Email


Preview | Powered by FeedBlitz

HeroicStories - Restoring faith in humanity, one story at a time

Blogs we read:

Blogroll Me!

contact me older entries newest entry

Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005 - (Mamma)

Lilypie 4th Birthday Ticker

Reading at 2?

Before he died several years ago, my Dad and I were talking about the fact that I can't remember not knowing how to read. Dad told me that that was probably because his Mom (a teacher before she was married) had taught me to read when I was two years old.

I believed that my grandmother had taught me to read early, but I figured (having raised two kids already at that point) that my being two at the time was a fond Dad's memory exaggerating.

Maybe it was. But Jack's recent accomplishments suggest that it may also have been true!

Although Rod and I haven't been making any special attempt to teach Jack to read, he has already started asking about letters and learning the "code". That is, he now recognizes 5 or 6 letters of the alphabet and associates them with the correct sounds. He points to an H and says "haaa". He points to a Y and says "why" and points to an "s" and hisses.

He seems to have figured out that the letters are key to the code that allows Dad and Mamma to read the same words in his books -- the same as each other and the same every time. Now he wants to break the code.

I don't know if Jack will be reading in his second year -- but at this point it looks more possible than I would have believed. (Then again, it's also possible that letters are another passing fancy and that he won't get interested again until much later. Who knows.)

|

previous - next

Pick a Random Page

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!