We're very lucky.
Jack is the sort of child
we all assume we'll have
when we decide to have children,
and the sort of child
less experienced parents
congratulate themselves for.

Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com!

Current

All of 2006

January and February 2005
March and April 2005
May and June 2005
July - December 2005

January and February 2004
March and April 2004
May and June 2004
July and August 2004
September and October 2004
November and December 2004

Click for Ann Arbor, Michigan Forecast

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com

Add to My Yahoo!

Enter your Email


Preview | Powered by FeedBlitz

HeroicStories - Restoring faith in humanity, one story at a time

Blogs we read:

Blogroll Me!

contact me older entries newest entry

Monday, Feb. 23, 2004 - Mamma

Lilypie 4th Birthday Ticker

Poor Jack.

He has four teeth now, and is definitely teething in a new crop. Each successive set of teeth seems to hurt him more than the last -- or maybe he's just getting better and better at expressing his discomfort.

Yesterday was, as far as I can tell, the worst yet.

He didn't sleep well the night before -- he kept waking up crying, though he woulkd nurse back down pretty quickly. At trhe time I took it to be hunger competing with sleepiness. (Since I am gone during the day, Jack gets most of his milk at night.)

All day yesterday, Jack refused to nap for more than 10 minutes at a time and awoke crying. When he was awake, the poor little guy alternated between sobbing his complaints and getting into mischief.

Now getting into mischief is really not like our Jack. We don't usually have much trouble distracting him from things we'd rather he didn't get into.

Not yesterday. The only time he seemed content was when he was frantically pulling books off book shelves or playing in the cats' water dish. He wouldn't let me change his diaper without a great deal of drama...flipping over to try to crawl away while screaming. (In retrospect, I wonder whether lying down didn't make his gums throb more.)

It was 7:45 before I finally figured out what the problem was -- and then it took Jack biting me pretty hard to "get it". He was wide awake, and he never bites unless he's drifting off to sleep -- and when I jumped and shrieked, it made the poor little guy burst into tears. He hadn't meant to hurt me...I don't think he really meant to bite. But I saw the horrified look on his face and comforted him -- and then on a hunch reached in to rub his gums. Yep, I can feel two huge knots on his lower gums and he actually smiled when I rubbed them.

Aha! I comforted him some more and then gave him some pain reliever. Then we took a bath -- that's always good for about 45 minutes of distraction! By then the pain reliever had kicked in -- and bedtime had come. I was able to put a very, very sleep but finally comfortable little boy to bed for the night right on time.

I really hope the teeth come through quickly -- I hate to see Jack so uncomfortable!

previous - next

Pick a Random Page

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!