We're very lucky.
Jack is the sort of child
we all assume we'll have
when we decide to have children,
and the sort of child
less experienced parents
congratulate themselves for.

Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com!

Current

All of 2006

January and February 2005
March and April 2005
May and June 2005
July - December 2005

January and February 2004
March and April 2004
May and June 2004
July and August 2004
September and October 2004
November and December 2004

Click for Ann Arbor, Michigan Forecast

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com

Add to My Yahoo!

Enter your Email


Preview | Powered by FeedBlitz

HeroicStories - Restoring faith in humanity, one story at a time

Blogs we read:

Blogroll Me!

contact me older entries newest entry

Friday, Feb. 13, 2004 - Mamma

Lilypie 4th Birthday Ticker

Jack adores food.

I suppose that most children do, but Jack is amazing.

First off, he started much earlier than I would have preferred. My older sons, TJ and Corey, started eating foods fairly late -- neither was all that interested until they were almost a year old.

Jack, on the other hand, started dive-bombing my plate at four months.

Being an old softie, I shared whatever he went after ... but it wasn't long before he was eating as much of my food as I was, and it was time for him to start getting his own portion.

We avoid dairy since lactose intolerance isn't unusual in our family -- but otherwise, Jack eats just about everything. He snacks on wheat crackers and oat cereal, apples, and whatever else he can get away from his adults. He has regular meals of pureed foods -- yam, potato, oatmeal porridge with dried fruit (raisins or apricots) beans and rice, apple sauce, soy yogurt, hummous, babba ganouj, squash, and probably several other things I am forgetting. We make all his foods, and we tend to puree some of just about anything we cook that can be pureed.

At dinner, though, Jack gets a serving of whatever we're eating -- broken up, but not pureed. Those seem to be his favorite meals, though I'm not sure how much of the food gets into him, and how much ends up in the cats.

Interestingly, beans seem to be a major favorite. Jack adores burritos, but also any bean or lentil dish we make. And the spicier the better! He will eat more of those (at least for me) than he will of anything else. I thought kids disliked beans...

It's nice to know that we're unlikely to have a picky eater on our hands -- and we're doing our best to make sure that he is exposed to a large variety of mainly wholesome foods.

It's funny how much incentive his health gives me to make sure we eat better.

previous - next

Pick a Random Page

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!