We're very lucky.
Jack is the sort of child
we all assume we'll have
when we decide to have children,
and the sort of child
less experienced parents
congratulate themselves for.

Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com!

Current

All of 2006

January and February 2005
March and April 2005
May and June 2005
July - December 2005

January and February 2004
March and April 2004
May and June 2004
July and August 2004
September and October 2004
November and December 2004

Click for Ann Arbor, Michigan Forecast

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com

Add to My Yahoo!

Enter your Email


Preview | Powered by FeedBlitz

HeroicStories - Restoring faith in humanity, one story at a time

Blogs we read:

Blogroll Me!

contact me older entries newest entry

Saturday, Feb. 07, 2004 - Dad

Lilypie 4th Birthday Ticker

When Jack was 4 months old, a friend of mine from Australia visited town. She leads a bluesy/swing/folk band and both Misti and I wanted to go, so we all went.

Jack was spellbound. From the moment they started playing to the moment they stopped he was paying full attention. I�m sure, in his own little way, he was in love. He had never heard live music before, let alone the variety of instruments played by my friend, Mel Watson. He realized that music and voice could be done together�. and that these people did it better than Dad!!!.

I guess I wasn�t overly surprised that he was so taken with the band, I already knew he loved music.

What got my attention, though was next day when I played the CD. He spun around with a huge smile on his face. He knew who that was on the recording. For weeks afterwards, it was fruit (the band) or nothing.

It seems that the girls really captured his imagination.

After that, the Ballad of Mad John would never quite do for Jack. I ended up singing Danny Boy out of sheer frustration one day and he went silent and listened. So for the next few frustrating months as he learns that he can communicate, but has yet to learn the details, only Danny Boy will do. Thankfully I have a 3 octave range, I can pull it off, but it did represent quite a test for my tonsils (and poor Misti�s ears).

It was about that time that he developed the stare I call the stereo stare. If there was no music playing, he would stare at the stereo until that situation was rectified. If it was the wrong music, he would stare again.

He hasn�t had any more wild musical adventures since, I guess we should rectify that in due course, but he loves music now as much as ever, there are some times in his little world where nothing else will do.

previous - next

Pick a Random Page

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!