We're very lucky.
Jack is the sort of child
we all assume we'll have
when we decide to have children,
and the sort of child
less experienced parents
congratulate themselves for.

Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com!

Current

All of 2006

January and February 2005
March and April 2005
May and June 2005
July - December 2005

January and February 2004
March and April 2004
May and June 2004
July and August 2004
September and October 2004
November and December 2004

Click for Ann Arbor, Michigan Forecast

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com

Add to My Yahoo!

Enter your Email


Preview | Powered by FeedBlitz

HeroicStories - Restoring faith in humanity, one story at a time

Blogs we read:

Blogroll Me!

contact me older entries newest entry

Monday, Sept. 13, 2004 - (Mamma)

Lilypie 4th Birthday Ticker

Joining the Family at the table

Don't you hate it when you write a long, involved blog, and then your browser crashes before you upload? Oh, well. Here it is again, probably in a shorter form.

As I mentioned last time, it had for several reasons gotten to be about time that Jack gave up his high chair. So, last night, he joined us at the table in his big boy chair for dinner for the first time.

It went pretty well, actually. We had gone out ahead of time and invested in some water- and food-proof plastic place mats to protect the table, and I celebrated by putting napkins back on the table, too!

Jack ate nicely, and did little tossing of food -- he turned to us and announced, "I'm done" and then tossed a very small bit of rice overboard to emphasize his point. We reminded him that tossing food was 'baby' behavior and not big boy behavior, and he didn't do it again. Well see how well that lasts.

Meanwhile, I think I may have to introduce the fingerbowl to our table for the next couple of years...

***

We continue to be amazed at the sensitivity to his emotional surroundings our boy shows.

Yesterday, we were at a club meeting, and while there was no shouting and little overt conflict, it had gotten political and bit tense.

Jack simply refused to stay. He sat on my lap and pointed out the window and asked to go out. We went out, and he was content to just hang out in the sling tagging along wherever I went, but every time we went back in, he started to squawk and squeal, squirm out of my lap and crawl off, and ask to go "out".

Now, none of this is unusual toddler behavior (it's not fun, but it's petty normal) so I didn't think much about it -- until we came back after several hours of this and many, many tries, to find that the most divisive club member had left.

Suddenly Jack returned to *his* normal behavior. He was content to sit and eat and listen to the adults talk. He didn't squawk (much) and he didn't wriggle down to take off either! It gradually dawned on me what the difference was!! I hate conflict, too, but as an adult I guess I have learned to ignore it if it doesn't directly involve me. Poor little Jack hasn't learned that yet.

***

I've described Jack favorite game before I think. Dad calls it "ducken ducken" for reasons I have never pursued very thoroughly. It is basically �toddler wrestling�. When Jack plays with Dad, Dad pushes him over, flips him, and very gently tosses him around. But when he plays with Mamma, it�s become a much more, um, interactive, game. I flip him, and he pushes on me and grunts, until I fall or roll over. Then I flop him over again, and he pushes me over again. the look of continually astonished pride on his face is just precious when his tiny little 20-pound self manages to move the immovable mass of Mamma! Shhh, we won�t tell him the details.

previous - next

Pick a Random Page

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!