We're very lucky.
Jack is the sort of child
we all assume we'll have
when we decide to have children,
and the sort of child
less experienced parents
congratulate themselves for.

Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com!

Current

All of 2006

January and February 2005
March and April 2005
May and June 2005
July - December 2005

January and February 2004
March and April 2004
May and June 2004
July and August 2004
September and October 2004
November and December 2004

Click for Ann Arbor, Michigan Forecast

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com

Add to My Yahoo!

Enter your Email


Preview | Powered by FeedBlitz

HeroicStories - Restoring faith in humanity, one story at a time

Blogs we read:

Blogroll Me!

contact me older entries newest entry

Tuesday, Jul. 13, 2004 - (Mamma)

Lilypie 4th Birthday Ticker

First Vaccinations

Jack's current favorite!

Guess How Much I love you!

by Sam McBratney

Well, it had to happen. Today is the day that Jack will start getting his vaccinations.

We put them off because he was such a tiny guy when he was born. We wanted to make sure he was robust enough to handle the assualt on his immune system well. We also wanted to make sure that he was mature nough for the vaccine to be effective. (Vaccinations given too early can result in reduced immunity or none at all. This is especially true with the measles vaccine.) More detail on vaccinations...

My preference would have been not to immunize Jack at all -- the odds of his being exposed to polio or small pox are pretty slim. But I can't seem to forget that his chances are so slim precisely because of the widespread use of vaccinations. I feel that it's my duty to make sure that my baby doesn't become a potential vector for disease if a noxious germ should get loose near him. With the prevalence of disease elsewhere in the world, and the fact that world travel is so very common, that's not all that unrealistic a concern.

But it's still hard to risk my little angel...

On other fronts, Jack proved yet again this morning that he understands a lot more than we give him credit for a lot of the time.

As Jack and I were having our morning "wake up" nursing, I mentioned to Rod that I was looking forward to when Jack outgrew being "too busy" for cuddles. He's a sweet boy, but he rarely hugs or kisses these days because there is so much to do and I really miss the cuddles he used to give when he was younger and couldn't yet adventure off on his own! Well, once he was done nursing, he hugged me -- over and over again all morning. It was glorious! And he even kissed me! I won't count on it continuing -- but it was so heartwarming.

In the News

Yes!! Chocolate is health food!

Boys *Must* Be Boys

Research suggests emotional intelligence more important than the traditional IQ-based intelligence in success and satisfaction

previous - next

Pick a Random Page

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!