We're very lucky.
Jack is the sort of child
we all assume we'll have
when we decide to have children,
and the sort of child
less experienced parents
congratulate themselves for.

Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com!

Current

All of 2006

January and February 2005
March and April 2005
May and June 2005
July - December 2005

January and February 2004
March and April 2004
May and June 2004
July and August 2004
September and October 2004
November and December 2004

Click for Ann Arbor, Michigan Forecast

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com

Add to My Yahoo!

Enter your Email


Preview | Powered by FeedBlitz

HeroicStories - Restoring faith in humanity, one story at a time

Blogs we read:

Blogroll Me!

contact me older entries newest entry

Thursday, July 1, 2004 - (Mamma)

Lilypie 4th Birthday Ticker

Chicken pox redux

Jack's current favorite!

The Very Hungry Caterpillar by Eric Carle

Well, I mentioned a couple of weeks ago that Jack and I had gone to a chickenpox party.

In the last few days, he has displayed some small red marks that I thought might be pox, only to have them disappear, rather than blistering and crusting over.

But he has been fretful, and this morning he is decidely feverish, so we may still get those party favors! (Of course, the fretfulness could also be teething -- he sprouted a new tooth a few days ago and we didn't know it was coming until a sunshiny smile displayed it for us.)

On the development front, Jack has long crawled into the bedroom and called Dad from the foot of the diaper changing station when he needed a change. Mamma has a better nose, so he hasn't felt the need to do that for me so often.

But this morning he followed Dad into the bathroom, and refused to leave when Dad and then Mamma made our way to the kitchen in search of toast and coffee. A few minutes later, he sent up a racket that suggested disaster in the making -- calling out loudly and insistently.

Of course, I went to check on him.

I found him standing pounding on the toilet lid. As I approached there was little doubt what the problem was. Jacky needed a change. But he resisted when I picked him up and kept straining toward the toilet.

I think, though he's two years younger than I expected for this, that it may be time to get him a training toilet.

Oh my...

He has also learned to request music by type. That strikes me as very innovative.

Usually, we listen to classical music -- selections chosen specifically for babies and small children.

(There are some very emotionally intense moments in classical music, and while I'm not sure how old is old enough to appreciate them, I know that 14 months is too young. At least for Jack.)

We also listen to Jazz and blues -- usually in the car, when there isn't anything ood on the classical station.

Last night, though, Jack handed me the remote control device for the stereo and pointed to it. Then he did the "snapping his fingers" movement that he often does when he is especially enjoying the jazz in the car.

It was hilarious -- and he was thoroughly disgusted with me when I turned on the classical CDs instead of jazz. Unfortunately the jazz station was playing the news and we don't have many jazz CDs. I'll have to change the CD lineup so that he has choices next time.

In the News

Survey Finds Harmful Bacteria in Baby Food

Confining babies for long hours may delay development

previous - next

Pick a Random Page

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!