We're very lucky.
Jack is the sort of child
we all assume we'll have
when we decide to have children,
and the sort of child
less experienced parents
congratulate themselves for.

Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com!

Current

All of 2006

January and February 2005
March and April 2005
May and June 2005
July - December 2005

January and February 2004
March and April 2004
May and June 2004
July and August 2004
September and October 2004
November and December 2004

Click for Ann Arbor, Michigan Forecast

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com

Add to My Yahoo!

Enter your Email


Preview | Powered by FeedBlitz

HeroicStories - Restoring faith in humanity, one story at a time

Blogs we read:

Blogroll Me!

contact me older entries newest entry

Monday, Feb. 14, 2005 - Dad

Lilypie 4th Birthday Ticker

New and Cool Stuff

Hi All,

The European trip, although very brief, was wonderful. I enjoyed meeting Corey, TJ, Wanja and the kids. I expect Misti will fill out the details of the trip. It was absolutely terrific to experience much the same style of hospitality I would expect of my own family in a foreign country with people I have never met. I really enjoyed it.

The town the kids live in, Teckomatorp, Sweden, is a quaint little village about twice the size of a postage stamp. Its just too cute for words.

I�m glad Misti is finally on the mend, the flu she picked up wiped her out for a week. Jack is also on the mend, and Saturday gave me my first opportunity since before we left for Sweden to recuperate. I had teetered on the edge of exhaustion all week and fell over the edge on Friday night.

The big news on the home front is that I have finally got my own car. Jack is beside himself, he loves the new car and wants to go out, anywhere, all the time. �Dad car-car� and �out� and �coat� are amongst his favourite words at the moment.

Did I mention that I have my own car?

A good friend made us an offer that was too good to pass up at a time when Misti�s ex has trashed our credit rating, (making it very difficult for us to get a decent second car). It means that I no longer spend 2 hours a day commuting, which should free up some time and energy for other endeavours.

It was very cool to see Mamma off this morning, eat breakfast at our leisure, tidy up the house a bit and then head out on a few errands. Previously, we would all get dressed and fed and charge out the door to get Misti to work on time, then catch our breath and do a few errands, by which time Dad is wiped out, half the day is gone and the boy my or may not have dozed off in transit.

Oh, by the way, I have my own car these days.

It�s a 2001 Ford Taurus (roughly equivalent to a Falcon for the Australian contingent, though the Taurus is a little larger). It is a lot more car than I anticipated buying, and a little heavier on the fuel than I was planning for, but I can sit in it comfortably and there is tons of room for Jack and Misti. It drives and handles well and it came at a price I was not prepared to pass up.

The Aussies reading this will know I vowed and declared that I would never own another Ford, but this one is new enough that I should be able to move it on before it needs major repairs (which has always been my beef with Ford- nice cars to drive, absolute pigs to repair).

In other things new and cool, we gave our camera to the kids in the hope of getting more pictures of the grannies and got ourselves a new one. Lack of a view-finder makes it a challenge for me to use and the extra zoom and other cool functions take some getting used to.

We will have DSL shortly which will make communicating with us much easier.

And.. I have my own car!!

Take care

Rod

|

previous - next

Pick a Random Page

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!