We're very lucky.
Jack is the sort of child
we all assume we'll have
when we decide to have children,
and the sort of child
less experienced parents
congratulate themselves for.

Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com!

Current

All of 2006

January and February 2005
March and April 2005
May and June 2005
July - December 2005

January and February 2004
March and April 2004
May and June 2004
July and August 2004
September and October 2004
November and December 2004

Click for Ann Arbor, Michigan Forecast

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com

Add to My Yahoo!

Enter your Email


Preview | Powered by FeedBlitz

HeroicStories - Restoring faith in humanity, one story at a time

Blogs we read:

Blogroll Me!

contact me older entries newest entry

Thursday, Aug. 12, 2004 - (Mamma)

Lilypie 4th Birthday Ticker

Laughin Jack

Jack's current favorite!

Guess How Much I Love You by Sam McBratney

As I mentioned last time, Jack has his serious side, but he isn't called Laughin Jack (well, by Mamma, anyway) without reason.

When our boy gets very, very tired, he laughs. Loudly and uncontrollably. At anything.

Last night, I wanted to pick up some materials to finish a scrapbooking page, so after we visited a friend at the hospital, we stopped at Michaels, a local craft department store.

Jack seemed happy and chirpy -- but he was unusually wiggly. He wanted to stand up in the cart, he wanted to get into my arms, and then out of my arms, and then into my arms. I figured that was largely because I had forgotten the slings -- they were both in the wash. I was wrong.

Jack doesn't care much for craft shops, so I sat him in the cart and I talked to him and made funny faces as we made our way to the scrapbooking section, playing for time to get a chance to look for the items I wanted.

As luck would have it, we got a cart with an intermittent squeeky wheel. Jack thought the squeeky sound was funny so, still playing along for time, I "startled" and asked him if he'd made that noise each time it squeeked. He laughed so hard he got tears in his eyes!

I was being fairly quiet, but Jack's laughter rang through the entire department store. I started to notice smiling faces peeking around the ends of aisles -- people must have been coming from everywhere in the store to see the laughing baby!

Several people marveled about what a happy baby Jack is and commented on how lucky I am, because it was clear that I wasn't being outrageously funny and that Jack was just in a wonderful mood. Only I knew how close meltdown was sure to be.

We got out of the shop and stopped outside to nurse, and we got all the way home and into dinner before meltdown began, so we skipped out bath and went straight down to sleep -- perfect!

I know I should be a responsible Mamma and get Jack home for a nap when he starts laughing like that. I know it means he's ever so tired...but that mood is just so much fun!

Ahh, laughin Jack, you are a treat!

In the News

Dads play a key role in kids' mental health

Some circumcision rituals carry herpes risk

Doctors prescribing untested drugs for kids with ADHD

previous - next

Pick a Random Page

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!