We're very lucky.
Jack is the sort of child
we all assume we'll have
when we decide to have children,
and the sort of child
less experienced parents
congratulate themselves for.

Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com!

Current

All of 2006

January and February 2005
March and April 2005
May and June 2005
July - December 2005

January and February 2004
March and April 2004
May and June 2004
July and August 2004
September and October 2004
November and December 2004

Click for Ann Arbor, Michigan Forecast

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com

Add to My Yahoo!

Enter your Email


Preview | Powered by FeedBlitz

HeroicStories - Restoring faith in humanity, one story at a time

Blogs we read:

Blogroll Me!

contact me older entries newest entry

July 19 2004 - Dad

Lilypie 4th Birthday Ticker

Home-schooling:-Dad

I just read Misti's entry on this subject and, while I agree with her, my reasons are different.

I'd like Jack to learn the connection between physics and metaphysics and the murky line between objective and subjective reason. I'd like him to learn the difference first, but then to learn the unifying principle between the two. I've never seen a curriculum that tries to address the latter in as many words, but then my experience of education systems is limited.

I'd like to teach him mathematics by discussing Pythagoras, Archimedes, Galileo and Kepler as historical figures with inquiring minds rather than as footnotes to their all-important discoveries.

I'd like to teach him physics by discussing the evolution of mathematical reason and our obsession with describing our Universe.

I'd like to introduce him to the debates over the use of zero in mathematics, its importance as a tool of reason, and its eventual dominance.

Had I known the connection between Mathematics and music, I'd have learned more music. I don't want Jack to miss that. And that boy loves music. It may be that he learns mathematics through music. That's cool too.

I am amazed as an adult at just how little I learned in school, how everything I did learn was disjointed and discreet. I had no idea (as a student) how completely the discreet disciplines of academe fold together as a cohesive whole. Had I known that, I might have paid more attention, I know I'd have learned a lot more than I did.

When Misti described the Steiner system of education to me, I was interested. It may well be that Jack will do a year or two in a Steiner school.

At any rate, Misti and I will be researching home-school curricula for a few years. I may do some courses in the classics myself to write some of our teaching materials.

I'm looking forward to this.

Take Care

Rod

previous - next

Pick a Random Page

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!