We're very lucky.
Jack is the sort of child
we all assume we'll have
when we decide to have children,
and the sort of child
less experienced parents
congratulate themselves for.

Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com!

Current

All of 2006

January and February 2005
March and April 2005
May and June 2005
July - December 2005

January and February 2004
March and April 2004
May and June 2004
July and August 2004
September and October 2004
November and December 2004

Click for Ann Arbor, Michigan Forecast

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com

Add to My Yahoo!

Enter your Email


Preview | Powered by FeedBlitz

HeroicStories - Restoring faith in humanity, one story at a time

Blogs we read:

Blogroll Me!

contact me older entries newest entry

Friday, Oct. 22, 2004 - (Mamma)

Lilypie 4th Birthday Ticker

Book, books, books

While Jack was working on walking, he seemed to mostly lose interest in books, except as missiles and to hear the lovely "riiiip" sound they make when he tears them.

His interest has heated up again!

So far, though, he hasn't wanted to let us finish reading a story. We read along to the point where the story "climaxes" and starts to wrap up for the ending...and he starts turning the pages backward! I have no idea what that's about...

In "non-story" books -- picture books with single word descriptions -- he flips back and forth pretty randomly and wants us to read the word he stops at. That makes sense to me.

In stories, he lets us start at the beginning, and read through most of the way before he wants to start going backward. That makes less sense to me.

In either kind of book, he also likes to sign for what happens on the next page before we can turn the page -- and he's almost always right!

So, his approach to books and reading has changed completely, though I'm not really sure what he's working on.

Language development

In other news, Jack seems to have backed way off on using language. Suddenly, rather than talking himself, Jack is asking us the names of *everything* -- over and over again!

Sometimes he will ask me, and then he will ask his Dad, and then he will ask me again.

I wonder whether he's trying to sort out accent. Dad's cultured Victorian accent is certainly a lot different than Mamma's bland miswestern accent.

Or, maybe he's just asking oevr and over again...because he can!

Night crying...the latest theory

Well, the more time passes, the more I think the problem is the medication I'm taking. The timing of the nightime meltdowns was pretty exact to the night I started taking the antibiotic, and the timing of Jack's willingness to nurse ('yes' to early AM feeds and 'no' to bedtime and after work feeds, when there would be more medication in me) points to that.

So, now I have to call around and see what other antibiotics are ok and then hope that one of them "tastes better". Poor Jack.

I have explained that's it's "only for a few days" -- but that must be pretty meaningless to a little guy who is tired and can't really understand that I have only indirect control of the taste of my milk.

I am also working on ways to make it all more comfortable to him. At worst, we are almost through the 4 days of a 10-day regimine.

Poor Jack.

|

previous - next

Pick a Random Page

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!